AmeriCAN-DO Attitude

Are you an AmeriCAN or an AmeriCAN'T?

Project VALOUR-IT

One of the best ways to support the heroes who serve our country in combat and become disabled veterans: Project Valour-IT [Voice-Activated Laptops for OUR Injured Troops].

This is an effort started by the amazing group Soldier’s Angels. It goes on year long, but they have an annual fundraising effort in the 2 weeks leading up to Veteran’s Day.

This year’s fundraising effort started on MON, 29 OCT 2007 and practically the entire military blog community along with right-of-center blogs are participating.

Via Soldier’s Angels:

The annual fundraising competition will be begin on Monday, October 29 and run through Sunday, November 11. Watch this page for more info, beginning Sunday, October 28!

Project Valour-IT, in memory of SFC William V. Ziegenfuss, helps provide voice-controlled and adaptive laptop computers to wounded Soldiers, Sailors, Airmen and Marines recovering from hand wounds and other severe injuries at major military medical centers. Operating laptops by speaking into a microphone or using other adaptive technologies, our wounded heroes are able to send and receive messages from friends and loved ones, surf the ‘Net, and communicate with buddies still in the field. The experience of MAJ Charles “Chuck” Ziegenfuss, a partner in the project who suffered serious hand wounds while serving in Iraq, illustrates how important these laptops can be to a wounded service member’s recovery.

Read More…

Here are the military blogs and right-of-center blogs (no left-of-center blogs are participating as of this post… big surprise) who are participating so far:

Mudville Gazette: 2007 VALOUR-IT FUNDRAISER BEGINS!

Mudville Gazette: VALOUR-IT DOES RADIO

Mudville Gazette: VALOUR-IT AUCTION ALERT

Mudville Gazette: VALOUR-IT AIR FORCE SPIRIT

Blackfive: PROJECT VALOUR-IT AUCTIONS

Blackfive: IT’S TIME TO GIVE BACK TO OUR WOUNDED – VALOUR-IT KICKOFF 2007!

Soldier’s Angel Holly Aho: Project Valour-IT Fundraiser Starts at midnight!!!

Michelle Malkin: Military fund-raising alert: Project Valour IT kicks off today!

Michelle Malkin: Project Valour IT update: Marine Team is in first place

Michelle Malkin: Project Valour-IT update: Where are the liberal blogs?

I am joining the Army Team since my youngest brother Mark is in the Army National Guard and because Blackfive was the first military blog that I discovered and Matt Burden is Army. But I am donating $50 to both the Army and the Air Force team fundraisers because my other brother Matt is in the Air Force.

I hope you all will donate as well. At the very least, I hope you all spread the word about this great fundraiser to help our disabled veterans.

November 4, 2007 , 5:37AM - Posted by | Project VALOUR-IT

1 Comment

  1. Hello Sir,
    I am interested in providing encouragement to our veterans and the soldiers who have been wounded while protecting our great country. Additionally, I am interested in providing practical information and insight to assist their families. My name is Craig J. Phillips. I am a traumatic brain injury survivor and a master’s level rehabilitation counselor. I sustained an open skull fracture with right frontal lobe damage and remained in a coma for 3 weeks at the age of 10 in August of 1967. I underwent brain and skull surgery after waking from the coma. Follow-up cognitive and psyche-social testing revealed that I would not be able to succeed beyond high school. In 1967 Neurological Rehabilitation was not available to me, so I had to teach myself how to walk, talk, read, write and speak in complete sentences. I completed high school on time and went on to obtain both my undergraduate and graduate degrees. For an in depth view of my process please read my post, http://secondchancetolive.wordpress.com/2007/02/18/my-journey-thus-far/

    Through out my lifetime I developed strategies to overcome many obstacles and in so doing I have achieved far beyond all reasonable expectations. On February 6, 2007 at the encouragement of a friend I created Second Chance to Live. Second Chance to Live, which is located at http://secondchancetolive.wordpress.com presents topics in such a way to encourage, motivate and empower the reader to live life on life’s terms. I believe our circumstances are not meant to keep us down, but to build us up. As a traumatic brain injury survivor, I speak from my experience, strength and hope. As a professional, I provide information to encourage, motivate and empower both disabled and non-disabled individuals to not give up on their process. Please read my post, http://secondchancetolive.wordpress.com/2007/04/18/the-power-of-identification/ My interest is to provide encouragement, hope, motivation and empowerment to veterans and their families

    Please encourage your readers to visit Second Chance to Live at http://secondchancetolive.wordpress.com and consider adding Second Chance to Live to your web site as a useful resource and placing a notice in your newsletter.

    Thank you for your time and kindness.

    Have a simply phenomenal day!

    Craig J. Phillips MRC, BA
    Second Chance to Live

    Our circumstances are not meant to keep us down, but to build us up!

    Comment by secondchancetolive | November 28, 2007 , 12:17AM


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

