AmeriCAN-DO Attitude

Are you an AmeriCAN or an AmeriCAN'T?

Why Fred Thompson Has My Vote

Just watch and listen: Fred Thompson’s Message to Iowa Voters

[Found via Bryan Preston at HotAir.com]

Fred, in his own words to Iowa voters, makes the case for why he’s the best man to America’s next Commander in Chief.

I would look forward to watching this man give speeches, press conferences and State of the Union Addresses for the next four years. I just enjoy listening to him speak about government, values and principles and our country. I certainly hope the Republican base will finally rally around Fred Thompson and make him the Republican nominee for President in 2008. I would even look forward to watching the debates this campaign season to hear him battle the Democrat candidate.

Please watch and listen and support him if you like what you hear from him. I truly believe he is the best man for the Presidency of this nation.

Also, please visit www.Fred08.com for more info on Fred Thompson’s policy positions and for the opportunity to donate to his campaign.

UPDATE at 00:18 EST on 31 DEC 2007: Peter Robinson (admitted Fred Thompson supporter) at NRO The Corner points out something that I noticed as well, but forgot to make note of: Fred Thompson appeals to disaffected Democrats who do not like the extreme leftward shift of the leadership of the Democrat Party.

In the passage I found the most striking, Thompson does something no other Republican contender has attempted: appeal to Democrats.

You know, when I’m asked which of the current group of Democratic candidates I prefer to run against, I always say it really doesn’t matter… These days all those candidates, all the Democratic leaders, are one and the same. They’re all NEA-MoveOn.org-ACLU-Michael Moore Democrats. They’ve allowed these radicals to take control of their party and dictate their course.

So this election is important not just to enact our conservative principles. This election is important to salvage a once-great political party from the grip of extremism and shake it back to its senses. It’s time to give not just Republicans but independents, and, yes, good Democrats a chance to call a halt to the leftward lurch of the once-proud party of working people.

So in seeking the nomination of my own party, I want to say something a little unusual. I am asking my fellow Republicans to vote for me not only for what I have to say to them, but for what I have to say to the members of the other party — the millions of Democrats who haven’t left the Democratic party so much as their party’s national leadership has left them.

This is reminiscent of Reagan’s talk to the people of North Carolina in 1976. Simple, straightforward, modest production values — just the candidate in front of an American flag and an Iowa flag — but (to use the word again) compelling. Reagan’s 1976 talk enabled him to recover after a string of primary defeats, winning in North Carolina, then going on to come within a handful of delegates of wresting the nomination from Ford. Will Thompson’s talk move voters in Iowa? Does his campaign have the money to get it on the air? Throughout the state? Or even in a few of the most important markets? Beats me. But we have here a serious man, making a serious case — and doing so in the context of a campaign that has otherwise descended into mere caterwauling.

Even at this late hour, I wouldn’t count Fred out.

UPDATE at 02:18 EST on 31 DEC 2007:  I liked this comment left at the HotAir post to which I linked above.  Summarizes my thoughts perfectly (wish I would have stated it myself!)

I suppose what it comes down to is this: Fred Thompson has said in detail what he wants to do as President and how he wants to do it. Forget everything else – his campaign style, his age, his wife, all the frivolous crap – and ask yourself if you want to see what Fred Thompson has said he wants to do if he’s elected President. If your answer is yes, then he’s your candidate.

Jimmie on December 31, 2007 at 1:39 AM

December 30, 2007 , 10:50PM - Posted by | 2008 Presidential Election, Fred Thompson

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

