AmeriCAN-DO Attitude

Are you an AmeriCAN or an AmeriCAN'T?

A McCain or Huckabee Nomination Will Destroy the GOP

If McCain or Huckabee Gets the Nomination, It Will Destroy GOP

BEGIN TRANSCRIPT

RUSH: Mark in Standish, Michigan, I really appreciate your holding on. Welcome to the program.

CALLER: Hello, Rush.

RUSH: Hi.

CALLER: Sorry to deviate from your monologue for just a minute, but you had a woman call yesterday that just frosted me to no end that if either Huckabee or McCain won the nomination she was going to sit the election out.

RUSH: Yeah.

CALLER: People like her, I coined a term, a call them TV Republicans, and it doesn’t stand for television, it stands for tunnel vision, because they need to take the blinders off and see the bigger picture. If they sit out the general election, the Democrat wins it by default, whichever one of the Three Stooges wins it. Guess what? In the next four years, there’s going to be probably one, maybe two Supreme Court vacancies come up. Do they really want one of the three bozos over there appointing the next two Supreme Court justices? Is Clinton gonna appoint another Ginsburg, or is she going to do another Scalia? Is Obama going to appoint another Justice Thomas or is he going to do somebody like Breyer or Stevens? Do they really want a liberal appointing the next two Supreme Court justices? They need to take the blinders off, Rush. They need to look at the bigger vision and quit being Tunnel Vision Republicans.

RUSH: I understand what you’re saying. I hate to tell you this, but she’s not alone. I’m here to tell you, if either of these two guys get the nomination, it’s going to destroy the Republican Party, it’s going to change it forever, be the end of it. A lot of people aren’t going to vote. You watch.

END TRANSCRIPT

Cross-posted at my MySpace blog where I left these comments in response to comments left there:

I don’t necessarily agree with you on Rudy destroying it. If he is fiscally conservative and strong on foreign policy, then the GOP will remain strong. And if he doesn’t push the homosexual agenda or the abortion agenda and nominates judges who aren’t liberal activists, he will be fine.

But, he is my last choice among Fred Thompson, Mitt Romney and Rudy Giuliani. Those are the only 3 candidates I will consider. Mike Huckabee and John McCain will simply never get my vote. To me, they are just liberal Democrats who reside in the Republican Party. They will not get my vote.

Now, I will not be encouraging anyone to not vote for them. However, I will not be campaigning for them and I will not be supporting them either. And, when they end up doing exactly what everyone said they would do in office, enact liberal policies and help the Democrats more than the Republicans and conservatives, you won’t find me having any sympathy for the people who voted for them.

Posted by Michael in MI (Thompson ’08) on 16 Jan 08 Wednesday at 02:08 AM

*****

You know, I forgot about the gun issue with Rudy and that is a HUGE one with people. I’m blaming me overlooking that on the fact that it is late and I should be sleeping for work (at this rate, I am gonna get less than 3 hours sleep UGH), because the 2nd Amendment issue is the 1 issue I hear about people not supporting Rudy. And the sanctuary city issue is a close 2nd, with abortion and homosexual marriage being 2b and 2c.

His main support comes from people who believe he is tough on crime and tough on The Long War. I really don’t think that he is any tougher on The Long War than any other candidate. He just has the benefit of being the mayor of New York on 9/11 and helped the city recover from that. I give him credit for that, but that doesn’t mean he understands The Long War and what we face with Islam.

But, the big things for him are the 2nd Amendment and his socially liberal stances. I do believe that will hurt him with the social conservative base of the GOP right now.

So while I am rethinking the effect he would have on the GOP and tnd to lean towards your theory more now, I still think Huckabee and McCain are worse, because they are trying to move the GOP to populism and basically want to end conservatism. Rudy doesn’t seem to want to do that. He admits he is no conservative and doesn’t claim to want to transform the party from its conservative principles. He just states that he has other strengths that qualify him for the Presidency. I can get behind that honesty, rather than someone who wants to transform the party away from conservatism.

But your points are well taken. As I said, I will consider him, but I would rather only have to vote for either Fred or Mitt. If Rudy gets the nomination, I would have to think long and hard about whether to support him leading the GOP and the nation in the future.

Posted by Michael in MI (Thompson ’08) on 16 Jan 08 Wednesday at 02:52 AM

*****

I dunno, Jake. I know I am somewhat unique in my take on things sometimes, but I have to believe there are a lot more people out there who see Huckabee and McCain as I do: just as bad as Democrat. Not to mention that a McCain or Huckabee Presidency would be worse than a Democrat Presidency, because we would have failing liberal Democrat policies being enacted by a Republican, and so the Republican Party gets blamed for their failures. Not to mention that nominating a populist would be spun as the end of conservatism.

I know there has to be many, many more people who are seeing this as I do, Jake. McCain and Huckabee would not only be as bad for America as a Democrat, but worse, because they could lead to the end of the GOP and the end of the conservative movement, as it would be attacked from the populists, the Democrats, the liberals and the mass media.

People are focusing too much on policy and not enough on ideology. Rush, God Bless him, is trying his best to get people to see the big ideological picture here. But people don’t seem to be listening. They are focusing on “popularity” and “beating Hillary” or “beating Obama” or “populism” or “momentum” and they are simply missing the whole bigger picture that we are dealing with and that is conservatism. Policy is based on ideology. It is not good enough to just “be right” on policy, there needs to be a reason why one is right on the policy. The person needs to explain where the policy position came from. Rush is pounding home conservatism as the answer. But people seem to want to run away from that.

I agree with you that the 2 groups who will be most inclined to not vote if not happy with their choice are the “religious right” and the 2nd Amendment folks. However, don’t discount Reagan conservatives, such as myself, who are looking at the big picture here. There are a big block of people who are not just talking the talk about Reagan conservatism, but are prepared to walk the walk. (or, in this case, NOT walk the walk to the polls to vote for a populist/liberal Republican)

Posted by Michael in MI (Thompson ’08) on 16 Jan 08 Wednesday at 11:36 AM

January 16, 2008 , 11:38AM - Posted by | 2008 Presidential Election, Conservatism, John McCain, Mike Huckabee, Rush Limbaugh

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

