AmeriCAN-DO Attitude

Are you an AmeriCAN or an AmeriCAN'T?

The National Write-in Fred Thompson Campaign

Try 2 Focus has some posts talking about efforts to get a nationwide movement to write-in Fred Thompson for President:

Write-in Fred Thompson

That’s the sum of it. If you can’t bring yourself to vote for the offerings in your primary, or if the eventual nominee is somebody you can’t stomach, don’t sit out, and don’t vote for the Democrat. Write in Fred Thompson’s name.

Why?

By doing so, you send a message that can’t be mistaken or spun. It is a message that says:

“I am a Republican who wanted to vote for a conservative GOP candidate, but wasn’t able to do so. I can’t vote for a Democrat, but I can’t vote for any of the Republicans, either. So I’m writing in the name of the candidate I wish I could have voted for, because he is the kind of candidate I could support.”

They have to learn that if they want conservative votes, they have to nominate candidates conservatives would want to vote for.

This strategy is the only one that offers any hope of changing the leftward move of the GOP in the future. Sitting out won’t do it – they can spin the reasons why you sat out. Voting Democrat won’t do it, they can spin it that the GOP candidates weren’t liberal enough. Even voting “None of the Above” won’t do it, because that doesn’t specify what you want instead of none of the above.

Exactly. That is what voting for Ross Perot in 1992 did: it sent the message that the American people wanted fiscal conservatism in Congress. And what happened based on that high vote for Ross Perot? The Republican Party heeded the message, campaigned on fiscal conservatism and took back the House for the first time in 40 years in 1994.

So all those who say that the Ross Perot votes in 1992 were wasted votes are foolish. The Ross Perot voters gave us the House in 1994, because the Republican Party got the message. We can send a similar message in 2008. Voting for McCain simply sends the message that conservatism is dead.

Write-in Fred Thompson Gaining Momentum

As to what to do with the Presidential part of the ballot, I’ve been pondering various alternatives. Leave it blank or write in and, in the latter case, who[m] to write in? Given the choices we’re likely to have, anything from Genghis Khan to Mickey Mouse would seem more reasonable than what’s on the menu, but I’ve come to the conclusion that I’ll just write in Fred. If enough people do so, that too will send a message, as in “listen, I take my voting rights seriously and I showed up to vote, but there was nothing there to vote for so I just wrote in somebody that I WOULD have voted for.” Again: if enough people do so, it’ll be bloody hard for the RINOs and the MSM to spin it, as they’re sure to try to do.

February 2, 2008 , 3:59AM - Posted by | 2008 Presidential Election, Conservatism, Fred Thompson

1 Comment


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

