AmeriCAN-DO Attitude

Are you an AmeriCAN or an AmeriCAN'T?

A Liberal Realizes that Liberalism is Wrong

And negative and pessimistic and just an all around drag. “Everything is always wrong” is the mantra of liberalism. Just as Dirty Harry notes at LIBERTAS in his description of his experience with Hollywood liberals:
But it’s what Mamet writes about the liberal belief that everything is “always wrong” that most struck me. Having lived in L.A. for five-years now I spend more time with liberals than ever before and while I like many of them they are a negative bunch.

Drive through a poor part of town with a liberal and the people are “exploited.” Drive through a nice middle-class suburb and the people are “brain dead robots of corporate America.” Drive through a wealthy neighborhood and the people are “exploiters.” In other words: nothing’s ever right, everything’s always wrong. There is no good, only bad.

Liberals are more than just wrong, they’re kind of bummers to be around.

Yep. That is my experience too. I don’t know any liberal who has anything good to say about anything except getting wasted and getting laid. And even then they complain, because of drunk driving laws and abortion laws or whatever else they can think of to put a negative spin on things.

But, as Dirty Harry notes, when those following liberalism actually take a step back and objectively look at things and look at liberalism, they realize that it is not all that great. Thus, we have Pulitzer Prize winning playwright and screenwriter David Mamet appearing to see the light about liberalism.

These cherished precepts had, over the years, become ingrained as increasingly impracticable prejudices. Why do I say impracticable? Because although I still held these beliefs, I no longer applied them in my life. How do I know? My wife informed me. We were riding along and listening to NPR. I felt my facial muscles tightening, and the words beginning to form in my mind: Shut the fuck up. “?” she prompted. And her terse, elegant summation, as always, awakened me to a deeper truth: I had been listening to NPR and reading various organs of national opinion for years, wonder and rage contending for pride of place. Further: I found I had been — rather charmingly, I thought — referring to myself for years as “a brain-dead liberal,” and to NPR as “National Palestinian Radio.”

This is, to me, the synthesis of this worldview with which I now found myself disenchanted: that everything is always wrong.

But in my life, a brief review revealed, everything was not always wrong, and neither was nor is always wrong in the community in which I live, or in my country. Further, it was not always wrong in previous communities in which I lived, and among the various and mobile classes of which I was at various times a part. …

Do I speak as a member of the “privileged class”? If you will — but classes in the United States are mobile, not static, which is the Marxist view. That is: Immigrants came and continue to come here penniless and can (and do) become rich; the nerd makes a trillion dollars; the single mother, penniless and ignorant of English, sends her two sons to college (my grandmother). On the other hand, the rich and the children of the rich can go belly-up; the hegemony of the railroads is appropriated by the airlines, that of the networks by the Internet; and the individual may and probably will change status more than once within his lifetime.

What about the role of government? Well, in the abstract, coming from my time and background, I thought it was a rather good thing, but tallying up the ledger in those things which affect me and in those things I observe, I am hard-pressed to see an instance where the intervention of the government led to much beyond sorrow.

March 12, 2008 , 11:55AM - Posted by | Hollywood, Liberalism, Marxism

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

