AmeriCAN-DO Attitude

Are you an AmeriCAN or an AmeriCAN'T?

President Bush has Done More than Any Other President for Africa

Will Bush-Bashing End
by Ron Radosh in Pajamas Media

Exerpt:

Bush and his defenders have good reason to be angry at Wilentz’s premature verdict. As Fulford points out, the President created the $30 billion Emergency Plan for Aids Relief, and extended it this year with a $48 billion to end the number of people being treated in Africa to three million and to train 140,000 health care workers who specialize in HIV prevention and treatment. Thus Bush changed our nation’s involvement in Africa in a positive fashion. The rock star and activist Bob Geldorf openly acknowledged this, pointing out that Bush “has done more than any other president” for Africa. But yet, as Fulford writes, “it’s unlikely that one in a 100 of [Bush’s] fellow Americans know about it.”

Yep. But, of course, for most on the Left, they really don’t care about the issues about which they claim to care. For them, it is all about hating Republicans, hating Conservatives and hating the President for anything and everything. President Bush could have discovered the cure for cancer himself and they still would have hated him and then blamed him for not finding it earlier. Meanwhile, Obama just says the word ‘cancer’ and they already credit him with healing the sick of the world and stopping the oceans from rising.

The morons who worship Obama based on his political career of achieving jack squat *nothing*, are the same morons who ignorantly spew vitriol at President Bush, even though he has achieved much in the areas of their stated political issues.

To answer Mr. Radosh’s question, no I don’t see the Bush-bashing ending any time soon, because we are not dealing with rational people here.

November 30, 2008 , 11:35AM - Posted by | Africa, AIDS, Barack Obama, Liberalism, President George W Bush

7 Comments

  1. Hey Michael. Sorry this is totally OT, but I was reading some of your comments at Hot Air, and I can’t post there (never have happened to be at the computer while registration was open), so I popped over here instead. I just wanted to tell you that yes, there are still women who value their sexuality and/or are waiting for marriage. In fact, I have only one friend who has had sex outside marriage, and I certainly would never say that she doesn’t value herself. The rest of my female friends are either virgins (at the ripe old age of 26) or married.

    Unfortunately for you, I gather that 26 is a bit young for you, and also, we are in Texas, not Michigan. But my point is that there are still women like us out there. Don’t despair.

    Comment by Mrs. Peel | December 30, 2008 , 11:59PM

  2. Thanks, Mrs. Peel. I appreciate the comforting words. And 26 isn’t too young, of course it all depends on the personality and maturity level. Age isn’t everything, but rather how a woman carries herself. Probably goes both ways with men for women too, with women maybe finding that age doesn’t always mean that a guy will be more mature.

    Anyway, yeah being in Texas doesn’t help either. hahah But seriously, it is nice to know there are still women out there who are like that. Thanks for assuring me you’re still out there. 🙂

    Comment by michaelinmi | December 31, 2008 , 1:15AM

  3. Yeah, I recently ditched a 29-year-old because his idea of marriage was a little immature. (Basically, I wanted the lifestyle I have now, with a house and a yard and a dog and domestic duties, and he wanted the lifestyle he has now, with an apartment and a cat and video games. I don’t think he wanted a wife. I think what he really wanted was a pretty woman in his bed at night when convenient. That should be easy for him to get – it just won’t be me. And no, I’m not over him yet…sigh.) Whereas there is a 24- or 25-year-old guy at work who is more marriage-minded, though he’s not my type. So you are right, age isn’t a determining factor.

    As for meeting people, I suggest dancing lessons. You should be able to find a swing dancing club in your town if it’s any size at all, and the people there are (typically) not one-night-stand types. I haven’t had any luck at church (because I go to the traditional early morning service with all the old people), but have met several nice guys at swing dancing.

    Comment by Mrs. Peel | December 31, 2008 , 9:37AM

  4. Sorry you’re not over him, but I am impressed that you ditched him when you realized that you didn’t see marriage the same way. I see too many women either settle or determined that they will marry the guy and then ‘change him’ into what they want. Never works.

    Personally, age wise, I tend to go for girls/women younger than myself. It turns out that every girl I have seriously dated has been 2-4 years younger. I was 21 when my first was 19. I was 26 when my 2nd was 22. I was 26 when my 3rd was 22 as well. I don’t always do it consciously, but I do tend to believe that younger women/girls are not as cynical and turned off by love and romance, as they have not gotten messed up by too many guys yet. Too many women/girls in their later 20s to early 30s (28-32 or so) are so soured on romance and love and knowing they can still find what they have always dreamed about in marriage and family. That’s a completely turnoff for me. Granted, I don’t want someone who is so up in the clouds and unrealistic about love and marriage and romance, but I also don’t want someone who is so closed up to the possibilities of love and romance and having a happy, fulfilling, loving marriage and family.

    So I tend to go younger as there’s a better chance to find women/girls who are not cynical yet. Also, among the older age range nowadays, there also tend to be a lot of already divorced single moms or women who are so stuck on getting married and having kids that it is their obsession and they are so preoccupied with it that we can’t have an enjoyable, dating period, because they are practically interviewing for and planning the possible wedding by the 3rd date!

    Funny you mention dancing lessons, because my middle younger brother did that and it has worked wonders for him. He is the hit of parties and wedding receptions now. Made TONS of female friends in college because he would go out dancing with all of them. And swing dancing was his thing he did too. Went to some bar that had lessons in the hour before opening and then went from there. He’s great now. So you’re right that is a good idea. A friend of mine that I met when I first moved to Michigan suggested we take Salsa dancing lessons together, because she always wanted to do that. We probably would have eventually had she not then up and moved to California a few months later. heh

    Church I have just had bad experiences. Not with regards to meeting people as I never really went to church or saw it as a social opportunity (with regards to dating anyway). I just stopped going to Church when I went to college (raised Catholic and went to mass every Sunday for 18 years prior to that). I just lost interest in the mass and felt I wasn’t getting anything out of it. And then also met too many hypocrites and felt it was pointless to go hang around people with whom I am supposed to share the same qualities and values, only to find out they are just Sunday Christians and don’t share the same values outside of Church at all. It’s funny you mention the old people at mass, because I actually got along much better with them than I did those my own age or my parents age. And they got along well with me, because I wasn’t like many of the others my age, who were just at Church for show and didn’t really live the values.

    Anyway, we’ll see what happens. New Year and all.

    Comment by michaelinmi | December 31, 2008 , 6:19PM

  5. Well, he remarked that he was “worried about the change that [marrying me] would make in [his] life.” At first, I was merely confused, but the more I thought about it, the madder I got. How about the frickin’ AWESOME change it would make in your life, jerkface? And the thing was, he meant it – it wasn’t just a poor choice of words. So that comment was pretty much the last straw. I decided I deserved better than a man who thought that marrying me would be the worst thing that ever happened to him.

    I am the opposite of you – I never went to church until I went to college.

    My mom keeps trying to get me to go to the huge church north of town, because they have a large young professionals group and we know people who have met their spouses there, but a) I’m not Baptist; b) I don’t want to drive 1.5 hours out there; and c) I’m very particular about pastors, and it took me a while to find a good one, so I don’t want to change churches.

    Comment by Mrs. Peel | December 31, 2008 , 9:04PM

  6. Hmmm, the “change” in his life sounds like it would be that he had to actually grow up, be a responsible man, husband and potentially father. Apparently, he didn’t want to grow up. I don’t know you all that well, but I can comfortably say that it was his loss.

    And you are right to say that you would have made a great change in his life, not a bad change. I think every man changes for the better with good women in their lives. There is quite a lot of truth to the saying that “behind every good man is an even better woman”. I truly believe that and I can think back to the great changes I felt in myself when I was dating good women, or at least had a great woman friend supporting me through certain times in my life. For every man, that woman starts out as his mother and then moves on to good female friends and then great girlfriends and for the really lucky, a great wife/lover/companion. So he really was not thinking big picture or on much of a deeper level than dating or some such. I’m glad you took that as the last straw and not as a sign that you needed to work harder to change him or convince him. Too many girls do that, to their own detriment, I believe. You definitely deserve much, much better than that. I know it’s a line from a movie, but I believe all women deserve a man who believes that his girlfriend/fiance/wife/lover/companion “make[s] [him] want to be a better man”. That’s how I know I will know when I am with the woman I want to marry and spend the rest of my life with her. Everything she is will make me want to be a better man, a better person, a better husband, a better father, a better lover, a better companion. Not just to make her happy, but because she is such an inspiration to me that I want to live up to her standards as well. Yeah, maybe sounds a little idealistic, but I know that I cannot settle for less. I’m prepared now to simply never date or get married if I don’t find a woman like that.

    Pastors definitely are important. That was one of the main reasons I stopped going to mass, because I was bored and getting nothing out of the homilies. While I really enjoy the tradition and the service of the Catholic mass, I really don’t like how many priests and pastors seem to talk down to their congregation and talk about things as if were are stuck centuries ago and they can’t relate anything in the Bible to current times and current stresses and current events and current worries. I want them to teach me about the Bible, but also explain how I can make it relevant in my life today. The Catholic churches I went to, the pastors and priests were just so boring and seemed completely disconnected with today.

    And I found the opposite when I went to church with my ex at her Baptist church. It was such a tight-knit group (granted it was a much, much smaller church too so that helped… 25-50 people instead of what I was used to, 200-300) and the homilies were so relaxed and it felt like he was talking to us on a personal level, on an equal level as people and Christians, instead of the holier-than-thou way the Catholic priests and pastors talked which I had experienced. The only problem is that I actually missed the traditional mass and some of the rituals and rules and such.

    I guess I need to find a happy medium if I ever went back to church. I also need to make sure that the congregation are not Sunday Christians as I have experienced in many other churches and actually to live and practice their beliefs and values. Bad feeling to think that I am finally among those who share my beliefs and I can feel open about my faith and my lifestyle of living conservatively, only to find out the congregation doesn’t really believe in any of that and when I open up, they ridicule me or look down on me or just find me weird or something. (Yeah, who knew that not drinking or not smoking or not doing drugs or wanting to have a relationship without it being sexual was “weird”, but I have come across the majority of people who think that way. Then you add up the fact that all 4 apply to me and I feel like a leper sometimes.)

    Comment by michaelinmi | January 1, 2009 , 1:02PM

  7. […] Every Man Changes for the Better with Good Women in Their Lives This is simply a comment I left in a completely unrelated post I made, but I thought it explained my opinion on where I am nowadays in my thought process of dating, marriage, etc.  So I figured I would make a post out of it, instead of letting it languish, unnoticed in the comments section of one of my political posts.  If you want to see the rest of the discussion, here’s the post. […]

    Pingback by Every Man Changes for the Better with Good Women in Their Lives « AmeriCAN-DO Attitude | January 1, 2009 , 9:10PM


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

