AmeriCAN-DO Attitude

Are you an AmeriCAN or an AmeriCAN'T?

Every Man Changes for the Better with Good Women in Their Lives

This is simply a comment I left in a completely unrelated post I made, but I thought it explained my opinion on where I am nowadays in my thought process of dating, marriage, etc.  So I figured I would make a post out of it, instead of letting it languish, unnoticed in the comments section of one of my political posts.  If you want to see the rest of the discussion, here’s the post.

*****

[ ... ]  And you are right to say that you would have made a great change in his life, not a bad change.  I think every man changes for the better with good women in their lives.  There is quite a lot of truth to the saying that “behind every good man is an even better woman”.  I truly believe that and I can think back to the great changes I felt in myself when I was dating good women, or at least had a great woman friend supporting me through certain times in my life.  For every man, that woman starts out as his mother and then moves on to good female friends and then great girlfriends and for the really lucky, a great wife/lover/companion.

So he really was not thinking big picture or on much of a deeper level than dating or some such.  I’m glad you took that as the last straw and not as a sign that you needed to work harder to change him or convince him. Too many girls do that, to their own detriment, I believe. You definitely deserve much, much better than that.

I know it’s a line from a movie, but I believe all women deserve a man who believes that his girlfriend/fiance/wife/lover/companion “make[s] [him] want to be a better man”. That’s how I know I will know when I am with the woman I want to marry and spend the rest of my life with her. Everything she is will make me want to be a better man, a better person, a better husband, a better father, a better lover, a better companion. Not just to make her happy, but because she is such an inspiration to me that I want to live up to her standards as well.

Yeah, maybe sounds a little idealistic, but I know that I cannot settle for less. I’m prepared now to simply never date or get married if I don’t find a woman like that.

January 1, 2009 , 9:10PM - Posted by | Life, Love, Relationships, Romance

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

