AmeriCAN-DO Attitude

Are you an AmeriCAN or an AmeriCAN'T?

And Now for a Self-Righteous Rant

I’m not one to blame anyone else for my problems. I’m also not one to dump my problems on anyone else. I’ve always tried to be a person who takes responsibility for myself and my actions, whether in my personal life, my financial life and my work life. If I do something wrong, I own up to it. If I am feeling down or depressed or having a pity party, I hole up like a hermit and cut off all contact with friends and family, so that I can work through things on my own and not bother anyone with my problems. I’m the opposite of ‘misery loves company’. Although I do long for company when I am feeling down and many times do so just need a hug or a woman friend to cry to or cuddle with to take my mind off things, I feel worse if I let myself go and go on a rant or a ‘woe is me’ pity venting session with family or friends. I feel like I should be stronger and I should be better than that and I should not have to rely on anyone or burden them with anything. Afterall, things could be worse and I’m not the only one with problems and no one needs to hear my problems on top of dealing with their own.

That said, reading crap like this just makes me want to scream about how un-fucking-fair life seems to be right now.

All I have wanted in life since I was 14 years old has been to get married, have a family and be a father. That’s it. I never wanted lots of materialistic things or to travel lots of places or to have a lot of money. All I wanted was to marry a woman I could call my friend, lover, true companion and mother of our children and be the best husband I could be and she deserved and be the best father I could be and my children deserved. Not too much to ask, I didn’t think. In order to be a good providing husband and father, I knew I needed to have a good career. So I worked hard in high school to get into a good college, I worked hard in college to get a good degree and I worked hard at my first job to set myself up to earn a good salary and eventually to buy my first home. Everything was working out well and setting me up well for my dream to come true.

Then WHAM! Laid off from Ford, laid off from my employer and now my life is thrown into chaos. I’m set to go broke at the end of May if I can’t find a new job by then, at which time I will not be able to make the payments on my home or my car or anything. All that hard work and acting responsibly down the damn drain in the blink of an eye.

Meanwhile, this chick has 6 kids, doesn’t pay her mortgage and so forecloses on her house, then has 8 more kids through invitro fertilization and now is set to move into a $1+ Million home.

It is times like these I just shake my head, throw up my hands and say WHAT.THE.FUCK.

February 19, 2009 , 7:12PM - Posted by | Life

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

