AmeriCAN-DO Attitude

Are you an AmeriCAN or an AmeriCAN'T?

God Bless You, President Bush. I Miss You, Sir…

What a great tribute. What a great song. And dammit, this made me want to cry.

The Bush years were truly the days of my so far young life. In 1999, I graduated college, moved to Michigan and started my career at Ford Motor Company. From 2001-2008, I was ages 25-32. I grew as a person, I grew as an engineer and designer at work, I was blessed to date 2 wonderful women and in 2003 I was blessed to be able to buy my first home. I look back on those days with fond memories.

Now, here I am unemployed and on the brink of losing everything I built up the past 8 years.

The past 8 years were truly The Days of My Young Life, and, as such, it truly pisses me the hell off whenever I hear people bitch and moan and whine about the Bush years as some kind of hell of which we have never experienced in the history of mankind.

God Bless you, President Bush. I miss you, sir…

**********

I didn’t agree with all of his policies, and his lack of defending himself against attacks aggravated me beyond belief. But… never once did I ever believe that he did not love this country and never once did I ever believe he was using the Presidency for bad reasons. (I can not say that about our current President and his entire Administration) Even with his Amnesty policy, I didn’t feel he was doing that for bad reasons, I just felt he was sorely misguided and naive about the short- and long-term implications of the policy.

But he had such a respect for the office of the Presidency and handled himself with such class. He and his family. And his love, admiration and respect for our military always made me admire and respect him even more.

I just think it is a shame that he will not be given his due as a President, and a great American, until long after he has passed on.

**********

I couldn’t agree more with all of you, thanks for commenting on the post. Pres. Bush was not perfect, far from it, but any of his critics with a shred of intelligence know he was doing all he could for the USA, never once did I feel he would nationalize anything, or take away anything, or worse yet round me up into some camp.

No comparison with the new pres. we are being ruled by a child, with a bad agenda. Its called Reparation, and all the fools who voted for him out of guilt will suffer worse because they didn’t see it coming.”

I think what has been sorely lacking among the American populace the last 10 years or so has been “perspective”. As you said, President Bush was not perfect. But, no politician — or person for that matter — ever is, or can be expected to be so.

I didn’t follow politics at all until 9/11/2001. That woke me out of my ignorance and apathy. Since then, since I have started paying attention and informing myself on a daily basis, there have been many things which have shocked me and which have saddened me and which have angered me. But, what I have learned and where I have matured in my knowledge and understanding of politics is that things need to be put into both context and perspective.

Unfortunately, too many people remain ignorant, remain uninformed and lack perspective. I think that is what hurt the most during the Bush Administration. He was no worse than any other President in history, but, in my opinion, was definitely the man we needed during the past 8 years to handle the tough times we faced. Did he always do the right thing? In my opinion, no. However, I believe he did the right thing more times than not, and, I believe he always did what he thought was the right thing for the betterment of this country.

I cannot say that at.all about this current Administration or anyone in Congress right now. I honestly despise all of them, in addition to the sycophantic mass media propagandists and the many kool-aid drinking American voters out there.

July 25, 2009 , 10:06PM - Posted by | President George W Bush

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

