AmeriCAN-DO Attitude

Are you an AmeriCAN or an AmeriCAN'T?

Sarah Palin – I’m Willing to Give Her a Chance

Great comment (with which I agree 100%) left at this post by Bill Whittle:

waltj:
Coming as I do from a military background, I’ve seen more than one articulate “talking dog” (full-time briefer) who didn’t know the square root of jacksh*t about the subject matter of his briefing. But he wasn’t really expected to. He’d write down the senior officers’ questions, politely say, “we’ll get back to you on that, sir”, and then either follow up himself, or, more likely, have the actual expert brief the senior privately. The most important skills of the professional briefer were in presentation — speaking voice, military bearing, eye contact, and credibility. Knowing something about the topic being briefed was optional.

It seems to me that the press has a perfect “talking dog” with Obama. He may not know squat about his subject matter, he’s repeatedly demonstrated that, but he sure makes a great speech with that sonorous baritone (when his teleprompter is working, that is; otherwise, not so much). But because he sounds so good, the shallow, superficial media gets thrills up its collective legs. Sarah Palin and George W. Bush, on the other hand, do not try to affect the tones and accents of East Coast erudition. They speak plainly, in simple (and sometimes mangled, in W’s case) English, with “next-door” accents. Does it mean they’re stupid or ignorant? No more than Obama’s dulcet tones make him intelligent and knowledgeable.

Is Sarah Palin the “answer” for the Republican Party and conservatives more generally? I don’t know, but I’m certainly willing to see what she’s going to do and say for the next several years. I’ve liked her lack of pretense from the start, her self-evident accomplishments give me confidence in her abilities, and her brand of conservatism appears to parallel my own. I’m willing to give her a chance.

Jul 31, 2009 – 7:42 am

August 2, 2009 , 12:14AM - Posted by | Barack Obama, Conservatism, Sarah Palin

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

