AmeriCAN-DO Attitude

Are you an AmeriCAN or an AmeriCAN'T?

“Gay Marriage” is as Oxymoronic as “a Square Circle”

This was a good comment left in reply to this great post by Charles Winecoff at Big Hollywood: Prop 8 On Trial: Bourgeois Moonbats Plead Sanity

I have explained my disagreement with gay “marriage” to my gay friends thus: The problem I have with it is linguistic. There is no such thing as “gay marriage.” That’s like saying “a square circle.” Marriage is what it is. Marriage is marriage, just as sleep is sleep, or a table is a table. It would be like my going to a friend’s house and he showed me his parakeet.

“Look at my dog,” he says to me.

“Uh, that’s not a dog,” I say. “That’s a parakeet.”

“No, it’s a dog, because I say it’s a dog. I’m allergic to dogs, but I’ve always wanted one. So I got a parakeet, and it’s my dog. And you have to call it a dog, too,” he says impatiently.

“No, I don’t. I’m not calling a parakeet a dog,” I shoot back.

“Everyone has to call it a dog, because I want it to be a dog!” his voice raises to a piercing level. “And if you don’t agree it’s a dog too, that means you hate parakeet owners!”

“I acknowledge that you love your parakeet, and you two are happy together,” I say. “If it makes you happy to call it a dog, have a ball. But don’t force me and the rest of the world to call your parakeet a dog!”

“You have to! You have to because I say so! I’m the one with the allergies, not you!!!” His voice raises more. “You’re parakeetphobic!”

“Is that even a word?”

“It is now! Because I say it is! Now call my parakeet a dog, you hater!”

Well, you get the idea. The point is, folks, have your relationship. Enjoy. Love. Prosper. But don’t tell me and everyone else what verbiage we must use, and don’t tell us we have to call your parakeet a dog.

January 25, 2010 , 2:45PM - Posted by | Homosexual Movement, Liberalism, Marriage

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

