AmeriCAN-DO Attitude

Are you an AmeriCAN or an AmeriCAN'T?

Being Married Comes as Naturally as the Sunrise

I so tire of hearing married couples whine about their marriages. As if others forced them into it or something, and now our penalty for that is to hear them bitch to us about it for the remainder of their marriage. Whether on Facebook, on blog comment sections, talking with people at work or overhearing people in public, the incessant negative and pessimistic whining about bad relationships gets to be like hearing fingernails on a chalkboard. Whenever I hear some of the things these people say and some of the ways in which they say them, I just want to say “well, gee whiz, if you are this much of an annoying, whiney pain the ass in your marriage, it’s no wonder it’s not fulfilling”.

But, every now and then, I’ll come across someone who truly appreciates the spirit and blessing of marriage. And it just warms my heart. This comment is a prime example of that:

Okay, here we go. When your married a long time and, if it is right, being married is easy. You don’t have to work on it. It comes as naturally as the sunrise. You are going to have arguements, even fights. Argue points. Don’t call each other names and say hateful crap because you’re too childish or inarticulate to express your frustrations.

Your life will be redefined. I am no longer Dan *****. I am husband, Father, even Grampa. I love that. That’s more important than Dan ***** ever was or will be. I wish this for everyone though I know it never will be. It’s as comfortable as a warm blanket on a cold night. With that smaltzy stuff out of the way, I’m going to bed. I wish you all, Buona Notte

Posted by: Ohio Dan at February 14, 2010 11:52 PM

Kudos to you, Ohio Dan. If only more people would look at their marriages in the same manner.

February 15, 2010 , 12:07AM - Posted by | Marriage, Relationships, Romance

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

