AmeriCAN-DO Attitude

Are you an AmeriCAN or an AmeriCAN'T?

Chances are…

Yeah, I still can’t stop thinking about her.  I haven’t been inspired to write anything for about a year and a half now.  That all changed just from a chance meeting with her.  Sure, it’s kinda corny and not my best work, but… the point is, I haven’t felt inspired like this in a long time.  One look into her eyes changed all that…

Chances are you’re taken or married.
Chances are you hear what I’m about to say every day.

Chances are I was just another face you see.
Chances are you didn’t realize the effect you had on me.

Chances are you realize I’m stealing a theme from a Five for Fighting song.
Chances are the lead-in to what I really want to say to you is too long.

But chances are, I’ll never get this chance again.
So I wanted to make it memorable, okay where do I begin…

The moment I saw your beautiful smile, everything seemed to be a haze.
Seeing your captivating blue eyes, I couldn’t help but get lost in a momentary gaze.

Your beauty had me flustered, I had to work to keep focused.
Momentarily lost in your eyes, I hope you hadn’t noticed.

By now you’re probably wondering what in the world does all this mean,
Well, Michelle, I just wanted to tell you, you’re the most beautiful girl I have ever seen.

I know coming from some strange guy like me, that might not mean much.
And telling you in this manner may not be the right touch.

But I wanted to hopefully give you another reason to smile,
even if just a small one, even if only for a little while.

I’ll end this by stealing from another song, I hope you don’t mind:
So while it’s just me and you, I thought I might say to you,
Michelle, You put the beautiful in life.

April 10, 2010 , 8:47PM - Posted by | Life, My Poetry, Relationships, Romance

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

